Anticipation: Day 14, Extraordinary Openness

Standard

 

Just once sentence today, a nice change from the paragraphs of days past.

“The eyes of the blind will be opened and the ears of the deaf will be unstopped.” Isaiah 35:5

I’ve been thinking today about what it would be like to suddenly be able to see or hear after a lifetime of darkness and silence and the closest thing I could imagine it might be like is the experience I had in Miami last fall. After spending over four months in northeastern Nicaragua, I had managed to pick up a surprising amount of Spanish conversationally. By the time I left Waspam, I felt like I could understand roughly two-thirds of whatever someone would say to me (assuming they didn’t give me a taste of my own medicine and instead spoke nice and slow). I was so pleased with my progress, both in comprehension and courage in regards to conversing back (my weaker area by far). But still, two-thirds is only two-thirds. So often I felt like I was in my own little world. I felt so isolated while riding my bike through the market; surrounded by people but totally uncomprehending of anything they said. I felt deaf to my environment, and, furthermore, blind to the meanings behind whatever nonverbal cues they might be giving me. As a natural socialite, this separation was like a constant ache.

And then I flew in to the Miami airport. All of the sudden someone flipped the lights on and turned off the mute button. I understood everything! (never have I been so happy while eavesdropping!) The world was open for me, my walls had been broken down and I was no longer isolated.

In an even more dramatic, I can imagine things were similar for those whom Jesus healed. With one word or gesture, He opened up an entire world that was closed off to them before, a world they had never even encountered.

Jesus has opened my eyes and cleared my ears

As we anticipate His coming today, think about what areas of your life He was opened up. How has He opened your eyes to truth? How has he opened your ears to His worship and love?

About Jessi Journeyer

I'm a young woman who's been blessed with enough experiences to know that if you don't record what God is teaching and doing in you while it's happening, you're likely to forget His work and therefore miss some of the possible benefits. Initially started as my attempt to sort out the lessons God gave me in Bible School, this online-journal has grown into an ongoing chronicle of God's work and voice in my life, an attempt to sort-out the great soup of thoughts, questions and ponderings that are stirring in my heart and mind. For my benefit and, maybe, for yours.

Leave a Reply

