Anticipation: Day 7, Gentle Justice

Standard

Look at my servant, whom I strengthen. He is my chosen one, who pleases me. I have put my Spirit upon him. He will bring justice to the nations. He will not shout or raise his voice in public. He will not crush the weakest reed or put out a flickering candle. He will bring justice to all who have been wronged. He will not falter or lose heart until justice prevails throughout the earth. Even distant lands beyond the sea will wait for his instruction.            Isaiah 42:1-4

In this passage I see the portrait of Jesus being painted with the colors of meekness. The God-man has the power to bring justice to the ends of the earth, to instruct nations, to right impossible wrongs. And He does so, under His Father’s direction. He is a servant, one who obeys wholeheartedly and sacrificially. One who does the Lord’s will, no more, no less. He doesn’t use His power to abuse, to steal, to dominate, to intimidate, to crush. He uses His power to lift up, to protect, to encourage, to proclaim truth, to restore.

Thank You, Jesus, that You are a God of compassion. That Your love for us, for me, is so multi-faceted and rich. Your love is extravagant. You have consistently lifted me up out of darkness and pain, protected me in the storms, and strengthened me to be Your servant. 

About Jessi Journeyer

I'm a young woman who's been blessed with enough experiences to know that if you don't record what God is teaching and doing in you while it's happening, you're likely to forget His work and therefore miss some of the possible benefits. Initially started as my attempt to sort out the lessons God gave me in Bible School, this online-journal has grown into an ongoing chronicle of God's work and voice in my life, an attempt to sort-out the great soup of thoughts, questions and ponderings that are stirring in my heart and mind. For my benefit and, maybe, for yours.

Leave a Reply

