Sin and Surrender

Standard

I’m a morning person for the most part, but even the brightest early riser can sometimes have trouble getting her day going. Therefore, I’ve developed the habit of listening to music as I make my bed each morning; something to help me adjust to the pace of no longer sleeping and now being active, in addition to making a somewhat menial task more enjoyable. But this morning my Spotify radio station played me an unfamiliar song by All Sons and Daughters, called “Dawn to Dusk”. Like the majority of this group’s songs, the lyrics themselves were rather simple, but one line really hit me. I’ll give it to you in the context of the whole chorus:

Tomorrow’s freedom is today’s surrender
We come before You, lay our burdens down
We look to You as our hearts remember
You are the only God, You are our only God

Recently I’ve become very aware of a specific sin I’ve been warring with. It’s a consistent, very difficult struggle, one I lose more often than I win. And every time I find myself in that same place of temptation, I start feeling hopeless, like I am never going to be strong enough to overcome the allure of this sin so perfectly fitted to my own depraved desires. I know the promise that God will not allow the temptation to be more than I can stand, that He will always give me a way out (1 Cor 10:13), but time after time after time I simply don’t choose that way out. I choose to give in to sin. I decide that I want the tasty bait, even though I know there’s gonna be a hook on the end. I surrender, and each time I surrender to temptation, the next time becomes that much easier. If I didn’t know any better, I’d almost think I was being led into a cage, like a dumb little animal following dog treats one step at a time.

Because I’ve been thinking about my struggle in terms of “surrender and “bondage”, the first line of that chorus really struck me. Tomorrow’s freedom is today’s surrender. I need to surrender, but not to sin. I need to surrender my life, my choices, my heart, my mind, to Jesus. I need to let Him have His way with me. Only then will I experience freedom. And the most beautiful part of this is that each time I am tempted to sin and instead choose to surrender to Jesus, the next surrender will be easier!

I praise You, God, for Your faithfulness to me. Thank You for never giving up on me. Thank You that you do not demand perfection of me, but that instead You kneel down and help me in both my desires and my actions to emulate Your Son. Thank You for Your Hesed, that You relentlessly call me to Yourself. Help me to hear you loud and clear, especially in those times when I’m tempted so strongly. Help me to choose you. Help me to surrender. Help me to walk in the freedom You’ve bought for me, for I don’t want to take it lightly.

About Jessi Journeyer

I'm a young woman who's been blessed with enough experiences to know that if you don't record what God is teaching and doing in you while it's happening, you're likely to forget His work and therefore miss some of the possible benefits. Initially started as my attempt to sort out the lessons God gave me in Bible School, this online-journal has grown into an ongoing chronicle of God's work and voice in my life, an attempt to sort-out the great soup of thoughts, questions and ponderings that are stirring in my heart and mind. For my benefit and, maybe, for yours.

One response »

Leave a Reply

