Wangki Mairin: My first amiga, Angelica

Standard

Today I spent some time with my friend, Angelica (pronounced: ahn-HELL-eeka). I met her about two weeks ago (my second day in Waspam) and I instantly liked her. She’s been coming to my English classes, and I’ve seen her around town; the more I see her, the more I wonder if God has put us together for a relationship.

She came over to the house today, and she shared about her dear friend, Emily, who died of AIDS last month. As she told her story (which Nutie translated so I could understand), my heart broke for this friend of mine, as well as Emily’s mother, who lives all alone now. Emily lived with HIV/AIDS for 7 years; when she found out she was sick, Angelica became her only friend. These girls were inseparable, sharing their hearts, time and stories with each other like only girlfriends can. Through their relationship, Angelica was able to lead Emily to the Lord! In her most despairing moments, Emily shared that she wanted to take her own life, to end the burden she had placed upon her family; Angelica told us that she reminded Emily that “her life belongs to the Lord, and every day she lives is a day for her to experience the love of God”. Beautiful truth! And then, all of a sudden, Emily died; Angelica saw her that afternoon in school, and that night, Emily went home to Jesus.

As she shared her pain with us, my heart broke for my friend. This young woman (only a few months younger than I) is inexplicably dear to me. Please pray for Angelica. Pray that we will draw closer in relationship with each other, and that God would use our relationship to draw us both closer to Him. Pray that I will see how to encourage her and her family. Pray that I will learn Spanish and Miskito so I can speak more than the Pidjin Spanish-English we’ve used thus far.

Lord, You alone know what Your plan is for us. May Your will be done. Thank You for crossing our paths. Thank You for using Angelica in Emily’s life, and I pray that You would use us in similar ways.

About Jessi Journeyer

I'm a young woman who's been blessed with enough experiences to know that if you don't record what God is teaching and doing in you while it's happening, you're likely to forget His work and therefore miss some of the possible benefits. Initially started as my attempt to sort out the lessons God gave me in Bible School, this online-journal has grown into an ongoing chronicle of God's work and voice in my life, an attempt to sort-out the great soup of thoughts, questions and ponderings that are stirring in my heart and mind. For my benefit and, maybe, for yours.

One response »

Leave a Reply

