The Israel Chronicles: Travel Day, May 17-18 (Thurs/Fri)

Standard

The following posts are the online edition of my nightly journal entries, chronicling all the happenings, sights and lessons I recieved while spending 11 days in Israel.

********************************************************
We, the 10 of us GCBI students (two of my classmates didn’t join us on the trip), left the Institute a little before 1pm on Thursday, and everything after that is all a blur. Ha, I hardly even remember the 2 1/2 hr flight from Orlando to Philly (funny how a 10 1/2 hr flight puts things into perspective). A mad-dash through the airport with the just-introduced Ms. Joan (one of Pastor Randy’s collegues) leading the way, and suddenly we were on the plane to Tel Aviv. This is when it really hits me: I AM GOING TO ISRAEL!!!!!!
My original plan was to sleep for the first 5 hours of the plane ride, waking up at 2am EST (9am Israel time), diving head-first into Israeli time. My body, on the other hand, had different plans…. (grumble grumble).
Despite how much I love being tall, I could have done without my height last night. I never got comfortable; I spend 3 hours with my eyes closed, willing sleep to come. No zzzz’s. So, I finally gave up a watched a couple of movies.
We finally (!) landed in Tel Aviv and by this time the tired half of me was definitely stronger than the excited half. But God is good! No one lost their luggage; no one lost their patience on anyone else; we made it through customs all clear!
Our tour bus is very nice, with beautiful, big windows. Our hotel tonight is also very nice; it’s right on the Mediterranean Sea with a sandy beach.
Tonight was incredible, in two simple ways:
1) I got to swim in the Mediterranean Sea, which, for all I know, could be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.
2)I ate, and enjoyed, cow tongue.
I went through the buffet line in the hotel’s restaurant, picking small portions ov whatever looked tasty and unfamiliar. I ate couscous wrapped in grace leaves, some herbed rice with nuts, and this delicious pie (really it was just nuts and honey in a crust), and also ate cow tongue. I probably wouldn’t have picked it if I had know what is was at the time, but I’m glad I did. I initially thought it was lamb, but as soon as I bit into it, the texture was softer and I noticed it was more flavorful than I remember lamb tasting. I actuallylikedit. Who knew?
I’m exhausted…. Till tomorrow.
About Jessi Journeyer

I'm a young woman who's been blessed with enough experiences to know that if you don't record what God is teaching and doing in you while it's happening, you're likely to forget His work and therefore miss some of the possible benefits. Initially started as my attempt to sort out the lessons God gave me in Bible School, this online-journal has grown into an ongoing chronicle of God's work and voice in my life, an attempt to sort-out the great soup of thoughts, questions and ponderings that are stirring in my heart and mind. For my benefit and, maybe, for yours.

Leave a Reply

