Chex Mix: Singleness

Standard

It seems like we’re always talking about marraige at “the Institute” (as the locals call my school.) Not only in class, but even just sitting around in the common room. Many of us think that we’re going to get married someday (however far away that someday is), and so we end up talking about it often. About what Biblical marraige looks like, how our culture views marraige, our own experiences with marriage (namely, our parents’ relationship), our dreams and fears, all of it. I believe that God wants me to get married, and I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve been diligently praying both for my someday-to-be-husband and myself, that we God would grow and mature into the people He wants us to be, for us to have a Godly relationship. But last week I realized something…

With all this dreaming, talking, praying and anticipating, maybe I’ve lost sight of a true gift: singleness. Though it is temporary, this single state I find myself in really is a gift from God. Take it from 1 Corinthians 7:34, a single woman “can be devoted to the Lord and holy in body and in spirit. But a married woman has to think about her earthly responsibilities and how to please her husband.”

As a single woman, I can be spontaneous, just pack up and go whenever I hear of an opportunity (which I LOVE). I can be sacrificially generous, since I only have to support myself. I can pour myself into the lives of others, since I have fewer responsibilities at home. And, most important, I can truly devote myself in digging deeply into God’s Word, flushing out the old-self-sin issues that still have ties in my life. Not that a dating/engaged/married woman cannot have a thriving walk with Jesus, but as a single woman, I don’t have any other major time-consuming relationships at the forefront of my life. In many practical ways, Jesus can be first.

Thank you to Pastor Aaron for reminding me of the gift of singleness.

About Jessi Journeyer

I'm a young woman who's been blessed with enough experiences to know that if you don't record what God is teaching and doing in you while it's happening, you're likely to forget His work and therefore miss some of the possible benefits. Initially started as my attempt to sort out the lessons God gave me in Bible School, this online-journal has grown into an ongoing chronicle of God's work and voice in my life, an attempt to sort-out the great soup of thoughts, questions and ponderings that are stirring in my heart and mind. For my benefit and, maybe, for yours.

Leave a Reply

