Thunder and Lightning

Standard

Our God is amazing. I know I don’t need to tell you that, you know it just as well as I do. And yet, sometimes you realize it all over again… Right now, I’m sitting in a dark room, windows on both sides of me, looking outside at an intense thunderstorm. Lightning brightens the whole sky. The rain and wind is crashing right at that point where it’s almost scary it’s so powerful. Awe-inspiring. Breath-taking. And to get to witness such a powerful display of might within the protection of dry-wall and glass… what a privilege. Here I am, mere feet away from slanting rain and howling wind, watching water repelled before my eyes. Thunder that sounds like it’s cracking the sky apart and lightning so bright it’s blinding, but I have nothing to fear. Why should I? It’s just wind and rain, thunder and lightning.

Kirsten (one of my leaders) sang a song tonight she wrote based on Psalm 33, and the chorus really resonated within me: “Our soul waits for the LORD, He is our strength and our shield. Our soul waits for the LORD”. The concept (truth, really) that God is my Defender is wonderful, in the
literal sense, to me. There have been so many times in my life where I felt defenseless. Hopeless. Helpless. Like no one was on my side. Where was my rescuer, my hero?

This afternoon I was pulled back into some of those memories, and they’re easy to get lost in. But through this storm, God is reminding me of the words to a song we sang on Sunday. It’s a well known song, sung in churches across America. But this past Sunday God used it to speak to my soul, and tears of speechless gratitude and awe brimmed in my eyes:

“My Savior lives. My Savior loves. My Savior’s always there for me. My God, He was. My God, He is. My God, He’s always gonna be.”

God is, always has been, and always will be for me. It doesn’t make the painful reality any lighter to bear, but it’s enough to shift my eyes from the paralyzing chaos around me to Him. It’s enough to change hopelessness to joy: the resolute assurance that God has neither lost interest in nor the power to handle my problems. That’s the purpose that drives me on. That’s the difference that gives me the strength to choose to take another step. And another. And another….

About Jessi Journeyer

I'm a young woman who's been blessed with enough experiences to know that if you don't record what God is teaching and doing in you while it's happening, you're likely to forget His work and therefore miss some of the possible benefits. Initially started as my attempt to sort out the lessons God gave me in Bible School, this online-journal has grown into an ongoing chronicle of God's work and voice in my life, an attempt to sort-out the great soup of thoughts, questions and ponderings that are stirring in my heart and mind. For my benefit and, maybe, for yours.

Leave a Reply

