With “C” comes “G”

Standard
I prayed a scary prayer last night…. I prayed that God would use this year to teach me how to handle conflict, His way. Not my way, not my family’s way, not the easy way or the culturally appropriate way. His way. Have you ever had one of those moments? That quiet, shaking-in-your-boots moment when you realize that you could either keep on keeping on the way you always have, or you could take a deep breath and just let go. Jump off. Hand over the keys. Welcome the unknown. Scary, isn’t it? Terrifying, really.
But there’s another side to reliquishing control, the exhilirating side. I love rollercoasters (and, for those of you who know me, you know that when I “love” something, I LOVE it.) My fellow coaster junkies would tell you that a coaster’s appeal is the very feeling of having no control. You don’t know what’s coming, you don’t know if you can handle it, but you know that other’s have done it before you and made it out alive, and so you gotta do it. That’s the same concept. I don’t know what’s coming, what kind of conflict I’ve let slip into my life. I don’t know how I’ll handle it (the scariest part). But I also know that countless thousands have encountered conflict before me, and they’ve done so in a Godly way. If God could empower them to respond His way, why wouldn’t He with me? I just gotta stay on my knees and plant myself at His feet. With conflict comes growth.

So here I sit. I’m buckled in, the bar is pulled down tight. All I have left is that prayer we all pray in such situations… “Oh, God. I’m in for one heck of a ride. Just keep me alive, ok?”  And here we go…

About Jessi Journeyer

I'm a young woman who's been blessed with enough experiences to know that if you don't record what God is teaching and doing in you while it's happening, you're likely to forget His work and therefore miss some of the possible benefits. Initially started as my attempt to sort out the lessons God gave me in Bible School, this online-journal has grown into an ongoing chronicle of God's work and voice in my life, an attempt to sort-out the great soup of thoughts, questions and ponderings that are stirring in my heart and mind. For my benefit and, maybe, for yours.

Leave a Reply

