Ready or Not…

Standard

Have you ever experienced this? You have some crazy experience (missions trip, conference, fill in the blank) and you think “This is so revolutionary. I’ll never forget what God just taught me! How could I?” And then you go back to ordinary, whatever that is, and no matter how hard you try, you just can’t think of that profound message that was coursing through you earlier. This is especially apparent whenever someone asks you, “So, how was camp?” “Uhh…. It was great!” (insert cricket noise here). Gotta hate it when your own brain leaves you hanging.

That’s my motivation behind this blog. I don’t want that to happen here (here being my year-long Bible school), and I know that it easily could. Between school, work, church, working with the children’s ministry, our church’s version of small-groups and getting to know my 11 other classmates (pray for me. 9 boys and 3 girls living in community for 9 months) it would be easy to not put in the effort of really chewing on what God’s putting into my heart. I’m here on purpose, and I know God wants me here. He’s gonna speak to me and do things in me, He already has. I don’t want to miss it, forget it, let it just slip through my fingers.

And you, brave reader, are contemplating joining me on this journey. I can’t promise anything. Right now I’m all excited, but I also know myself. I kind of a perfectionist, so this concept of just having my thoughts on “public paper” is a bit alarming. But I’m ok with that. I want to come to the point where I can write down my thoughts without having to come to some nice conclusion, because you don’t always have one.

I don’t know what this will end up looking like. But I’m thinking this is something God wants me to do. Go with me on this: Does God teach you something solely for your own benefit? Does He transform you just for your own sake? Or, perhaps, could He want your transformation to impact someone else too? Now, I’m not saying that I have some amazing, life-changing knowledge that I must bless the rest of mankind with. But I can’t help but be excited at the idea that while God is working with me on something, He could be with you too. It’s exciting enough to change my processing format from journaling to blogging. So, here we go! Are you ready?

About Jessi Journeyer

I'm a young woman who's been blessed with enough experiences to know that if you don't record what God is teaching and doing in you while it's happening, you're likely to forget His work and therefore miss some of the possible benefits. Initially started as my attempt to sort out the lessons God gave me in Bible School, this online-journal has grown into an ongoing chronicle of God's work and voice in my life, an attempt to sort-out the great soup of thoughts, questions and ponderings that are stirring in my heart and mind. For my benefit and, maybe, for yours.

One response »

  1. I am unbelievably proud of you, and honored to be called your friend. It is often said that simply the act of writing something down (whether or not you ever go back over it) will help things stick in your mind. This was a great idea, I can’t wait to hear about all of the things you’re learning and teaching and discovering. Blogging is a great way to force meditation.
    Love you, this is going to be so good for you,
    Caty

Leave a Reply

